How do you send and receive data from an external api using Web / WebView?

Hello AI Community!

I want to create a simple database of all the clothes in a shop.

Here's how it will work:

1. The user will click on an Image Picker button that will let him choose the image of the shirt / pant from the gallery.

2. Once the image is picked, I want to send it to an external api that automatically removes the backgrounds of the images and makes them transparent. Here is the link of that service:
    Background Removal API – remove.bg
    THIS IS THE MOST CRUCIAL PART OF THE APP and this is exactly where I'm stuck.

3. Once the transparent image is returned from the api, it shall be stored in the database.

I'm still a newbie in coding and don’t know most of it.

I don’t know which format to use, and moreover, how to use the App Inventor's web components to achieve the same.

I'd really appreciate if someone could help me with this.

Thanks! (:

Seems you used the same API as this user.

For the code, view the cURL code instead of Java.

2 Likes

Hmm... API is a hard obstacle in App Inventor. Before you start with APIs, you should learn how to structure data with lists and dictionaries.

2 Likes

The web component cannot send binary files to an api that requires multi-part form data.

This can be done with app inventor, either use an intermediary php server, or write an extension.

It may be possible to use the custom WebView extension to upload/download your file to remove.bg

3 Likes

@TIMAI2 , @Gordon_Lu Thanks for your inputs guys (:

Use this to convert curl into blocks

2 Likes

I think it's possibe to send multi-part form data using 'curl' command of KIO4's ternimal extension. but I never tried.

1 Like

you can use a php script and upload it on your hosting

then try to communicate with the php script via Web component on app inventor , this is the best approach but you need to reconsider security too.

1 Like

Hi @Faraz_Firoz
Hi all!