Urgent! I can't connect to my emulator for the life of me

Hey everyone
I've been trying to connect to my emulator for the last hour to do a project that I need to do (it's my first time trying using this app) and even after downloading the emulator properly and restarting my computer, every time I press Emulator on the drop down connect menu it doesn't work. I'm using a Mac and I just get the message "Starting the Android Emulator" until another screen pops up that says "Unable to retrieve the version of aiemulator saved on your computer." I just keep getting this message and I feel like I've done everything, does anyone know anyway I can connect to the emulator?

Edit:
If I manually open aiStarter on Terminal then I get this message:

Last login: Wed Feb 24 09:56:11 on ttys000

MacBook-Air:~ jackbreuhaus$ /Applications/AppInventor/commands-for-Appinventor/aiStarter ; exit;

Running aiStarter version 3.0

Bottle server starting up (using WSGIRefServer())...

Listening on http://127.0.0.1:8004/

Hit Ctrl-C to quit.

Shutdown...

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "aiStarter.py", line 131, in

File "bottle.py", line 2389, in run

File "bottle.py", line 2086, in run

File "wsgiref/simple_server.py", line 151, in make_server

File "SocketServer.py", line 417, in init

File "wsgiref/simple_server.py", line 48, in server_bind

File "BaseHTTPServer.py", line 108, in server_bind

File "SocketServer.py", line 431, in server_bind

File "socket.py", line 228, in meth

socket.error: [Errno 48] Address already in use

[1121] Failed to execute script aiStarter

No matching processes belonging to you were found

No matching processes belonging to you were found

• daemon not running; starting now at tcp:5037

• daemon started successfully

error: no emulator detected

Killed emulator

Killed adb

logout

Saving session...

...copying shared history...

...saving history...truncating history files...

...completed.

[Process completed]