Retrieving GPS data from Firebase DB

I am trying to have MIT App Inventor connect to my Firebase that has a structure shown in the image below. How to I set up my code in the App Inventor to target the data here and display it? For example, how would I structure my code (both design and block components) so that it targets the latitude and longitude data from a specific date/time and display it in a text box? Would someone be willing to demonstrate some code that can make this happen?

Do you want to use the AI2 native Firebase component, or the REST api with the web component ?

The Firebase component under the experimental section of the design blocks. Hoepfully that makes sense. I apologize for any confusion I am very new to all of this.

Here are the basics. We get a list of date/times from sensor1 tags, the users selects a date/time, we then fetch the data for that date/time (which is return as a json/dictionary), we extract the lat/lon values and display these in labels...

EXAMPLE FB DATA

DESIGNER FOR FB

BLOCKS

SCREENSHOT

Thank you! Any chance you could demonstrate how to take a map element and populate this data on it using markers? What I would like to do is be able to choose a date/time to pull GPS coordinates from and then display that data on a map with markers instead of the two labels as shown in your example. How could I modify the code you provided to do this?

... simple example
asSimpleAsItGetsMapLocation

It looks like you are manually punching in the latitude and longitude data to get the marker to display on the map, is there a way for it to read from my database and automatically populate that information?

Actually there are many ways to use the latitude/longitude data to populate a Marker latitude/longitude. What have you tried?

• the Novice programmer way = substitute your Label1.text Label2.text for the actual numbers
  • use a global variable
  • what you do depends on your existing code.