Problem with Android Blutooth APP Connect

Hello, I have no experience with coding. I got this app from a member named "Jeff". Unfortunately, it does not work correctly on the Android tablet. Can you please help me with this?

Scoreboard_MKII.aia (220.1 KB)

scoreboard_esp32_test.ino (30.6 KB)

With kind regards
Andreas

Hello Andreas

Well, the BLE extension is massively out of date, so that doesn't help, depending on your Android Version. However, you say you are using a tablet - that has the alarm bells ringing - what version of Bluetooth does the tablet have?

Also, did Jeff give you a matching script for your microprocessor (ESP32)? We need to see that - the App both sends and receives. EDIT - you have uploaded it!

The App could have been defined more efficiently, no need to have so many button events but if it works you probably don't want to change it.

Can you tell us exactly what is not correct?

i have two Android devices.
Bluetooth Version 4.2 and 5.0

... it will only 'work' on the 5.0 version. What is the Android version of that device?

I can pair the bluetooth connection but the app does not find the connection when scanning. Sometimes the pairing takes a little too long.
I have also entered the correct MAC address of the ESP32 in the app.
Screenshot

for the tablet with Bluetooth 5.0 is the Android version 11

1 Like

Right - should not be so bad permissions wise. BLE (Google Android Security) now requires Location to be enabled. Drag a Location Sensor component into the designer view to trigger a permission request.

Update the BLE extension:

Do you mean you are pairing the devices outside of the App?

Hi @Chris,
it seems a problem that you have already solved a couple of months ago for another user: the service UUID and the characteristics UUID shouldn't be different each other ?

Hello young man - they should be different. I have a Generator/Validator on my site:

ProfessorCad: Tips & Tricks Create/Validate BLE UUIDs

1 Like