Webviewer Website Login PHP

Hey guys,

I'm not sure if anyone can help me, I am an infrastructure engineer by trade, so apologies for the gaps in my knowledge.

I am attempting to simply login to a website form through the app. I have used WireShark to get a better understanding of how the website login would normally work.

I seem to be heading in the right direction, but I still can't seem to login.

Button is clicked
Take all the returned content and strip out the token
POST back to website with headers, userid, password, token etc

On the app, it doesn't throw an error, but it also doesn't login

If anyone can steer me in the right direction, that would be great!

Thanks, Ben

Hi @BenjaminMonro Welcome
Can you try with the PostData method of this extension?

Thanks for your incredibly fast reply!

I have used the PostData method, however I am receiving "Attempt to invoke virtual method 'void android.webkit.WebView.postUrl(java.lang.String, byte[])' on a null object reference"

If it helps, this is the type of form I am trying to log into: https://demo.osticket.com.br/scp/login.php

Hi
You will have to correctly create a webview first using below mentioned methods:

• CreateWebView
  • Set WebView

Also probably you will have to set post data in this way:
username=my_username&password=my_password

Let me know if this does not work.

Thanks again for your help, do you have any suggestions on where I could find these methods being used?

I have crawled through loads of articles and I can't find anything similar to mine where someone is trying to log into a website using App Inventor without using Javascript or an API.

For this reason, I used WireShark to sniff the connections when I log into the form and I got the following:

If you had any other articles or references that would be amazing.

Kind regards,
Ben

Unfortunately no.
I really don't know what can be done using that method.

I have a workaround if you are interested in trying: