Using Feather M0 and AI2 to transfer data from Feather to App

At the beginning of this project I couldn’t find any examples of using a Feather M0 to transfer data to the app inventor. Being a complete novice at app inventor, I had quite a time figuring it out because Bluetooth LE is more difficult than Classic Bluetooth but also the Feather M0 has its own requirements that are not well documented. I finally have a working app so I thought I would share it in case others are struggling with it. The code is definitely not efficient, it’s probably bloated and I suspect is very ugly in places - but it works!

I have to thank ChrisWard, ABG, Gerrikoio (BLE GP-O Controller | MIT App Inv + Feather M0 Bluefruit LE - Hackster.io), and electronoobs for their help and insight.

My project is designed to receive an analog signal from three pressure transducers that measure the pressure of liquids in three RV tanks and displays the percent full or gallons left in the tanks. I have only simulated the analog signals using one potentiometer and calculated offsets from it to come up with 3 data points that I can use to test the code. I present the data on two screens. The main screen shows a graph of the three data points over time with the most recent data at the right, scrolling then to the left. The day of the week is also shown on the graph. Digital values are also displayed. The other screen (not a Screen in the true sense of app inventor) shows just the digital results. All data points are stored within the device so that the app can be closed and opened at will. The Feather code simply reads the data and then concatenates the 3 values with “#” being the delimiter. I have organized the blocks in app inventor in these general categories: creating variables, initialization of the data and screens, and the main loop that waits for data along with its supporting procedures.