Understanding The Structure

Hello everyone,
My name is Fareeda Ragab. I'm a 2nd year Engineering student at Alex university.
I'm super excited to contribute in an open source as it will be my first time and MIT App Inventor seems to be a great place to start.
I need to ask some questions:

1. How could i understand the structure of the app as whole.
    (I'm interested in testing using JUnit.)
  2. How could i communicate with the monitors of the project i chose.
  3. In github issues, what is the label for beginners bugs to start with.
    Thanks for this opportunity.

Hello @Fareeda_Ragab
Welcome to MIT App Inventor Community,

If you would like to contribute to MIT App Inventor open source then you can see this repository GitHub - mit-cml/appinventor-sources: MIT App Inventor Public Open Source

This is made using Google Web Toolkit(GWT) and Blockly Editor provided by Google, The main UI is created from Ode.java and all the classes which help in building of UI are in this directory.
All The best dear!

2 Likes

Thanks @Horizon for replying ..

If you know how to get in touch with monitors for GSoC, the help would be really appreciated ..
The monitors for GWT unit testing are Susan Lane, Li Li, or Evan Patton ..
I need to get in touch with any of them to understand how i will start..

Thanks again ..

Is this what you are after ?

Yes, and i've entered the community through it ..

Which structure are you asking about App Inventor source code? Then you must need to read documentation for it.

You can communicate through this community, share your thoughts on project idea all will give you feedback.

help-wanted

1 Like

@Fareeda_Ragab App Inventor is a quite complex system for new user it may take long time to understand entire system.

The technologies used in App Inventor are...

1. Java spacifically (1.8)
  2. Android SDK
  3. JUnit, PowerMock, Mockito for unit testing.
  4. JavaScript
  5. Google Blockly for block editor.
  6. Kawa scheme.