System Error : Unable to get a response with the specified URL

Hi,

I have been using AI2 for more than 2 years. I hadn't recompiled my project to an APK file for almost a month. But when I did it today, I got an error message: "System Error : Unable to get a response with the specified URL: http:www ... (a simple text file) after my new APK file is installed. I tried to run my older version and everything is OK.

I also recompiled my project using "Kodular", I got an error message during recompiling: "Error generating Yail for screen (number) _Screen1::this.getParameters() is undefined. Please fix and try packaging again. "getParameters()" isn't my procedure. Hope this is a hint to the solution.

By the way, the response time of the Block Editor became extremely slow in Chrome recently. I tried to switch to Firefox according to AI2's suggestion, and the speed is almost like a new project. So, without Firefox, I can't even worked with AI2. Thanks guys.

Truely,
Anthony Chow

Why not show us how you are handling / loading this file in your blocks ?

Hi Tim,

My Project already becomes "huge", and that's why I have the slow response time a long time ago. Anyway, I will try to create a small project for testing as what I did before to help you guys debugging. Thanks in advance.

truely,
Anthony

Hi Tim,

I just created a small project for the file loading problem:

file_loading_test.aia (3.4 KB)

The sequence of testing is:

create APK file --> install the app --> Test the app --> uninstall the app

When "SaveResponse" of the "Web Loader" is set to True, error appears, but data will be loaded successfully if it is set to False. That means web_loader.GotText is ok, but web_loader.GotFile fails.

I use the App Inventor About page to replace my small simple text file. Hope all these information can help.

Truely,
Anthony

What android version is on your device you are testing with?