Struggling with what feels like it should be an easy JSON-> Map Coordinates issue

Hey all,

I'm new to App Inventor but it looks great.

I'm working on a Geocaching App as a way of learning how this all fits together, and I'm at a point where I've got the app to fetch some JSON from a webserver which looks like this (ignore the coordinate values, these are just for testing, I'm yet to write the full backend!):

{"waypoints": [
  {
    "name": "Our House",
    "coordinates": {
      "latitude": 51,
      "longitude": 24
    }
  },
  {
    "name": "The 1st Target",
      "latitude": 52,
      "longitude": 23
    }
  },

{
    "name": "The 2nd Target",
      "latitude": 53,
      "longitude": 22
    }
  }
]
}

When I initialise the screen, I want to set the map coordinates to the lat/lng at the first waypoint (Our House), but I'm really struggling to work out how to iterate over the list.

I've read the documentation and many of the posts on here, but for some reason my brain just can't get it right :frowning:

This is the relevant block - note that I come from a Python background, so this may just be me holding it wrong!

Thanks in advance for the help!

Like so ?

You may want to go a bit further, extract the names from the json, put them in a list, to be able to select which item to return

Thanks, this is the approach I'm used to taking with Python:

import json

jdict = json.loads("{JSON STRING}")

latitude = jdict["waypoints"][0]["coordinates"]["latitude"]

So I guess I'm getting a bit confused about why I can't just reference the appropriate sub-field.

I'll give your approach a go a bit later on, thanks again :slight_smile:

You are doing the same thing, just appears more long winded with blocks...

2 Likes

OK, that worked a treat, thanks, I can get the coordinates from the JSON and pass them to the map, however for some reason they appear to be truncated to 4 decimal places.