Split Sensor Data received

Hello, I am very new to building an app and hit sorta a road block. I am creating an app that collects data from a DHT22 and a Vegetronix sensor. I can get the app to recieve just one singular sensor data. However, when I try to split the text. My app gets a problem stating that the "List index is too large". This is my current progress. I have tried to make an empty list and populate it, and that didn't work. I tried to create a list with values and replace those values with the byte values I recieved. I have registered for float, string and int. Which either give give me weird characters in wrapped in [] or end up printing nothing. I am not sure what else I can do, any help would be appreciated.

Fish_Tank_Control (1).aia (340.4 KB)

Here it is list of lists having one item "41", need to approach accordingly.

Edit: Your data is appeared to be like

So it is advised to look how data is constructed, that need to be organized, if you want 41 to be extrected, that can be but code might break other moment.

So the data that is currently being extracted is a temperature and humidity rating. I am trying to split the data, but it wouldn't split it onto the respect labels and continues to print the second part of the sensor reading only. I am not sure how to implement the solution you have suggested. Also I went back and tried to create an empty list.

Here is your current event that receives bytes:

The split at | technique is inappropriate for this kind of data stream, where you receive a list of byte values.

Here is a conservative replacement that won't crash ...

Notice how I test the list length before each attempt at selecting a list item by index., so I will never inadvertently fall off the end.

P.S. These blocks can be dragged directly into your Blocks Editor workspace.

See A way to group projects by theme - #10 by ABG
for a demo.

2 Likes