Saving parameters with dictionary

Hi,
I'm new in App Inventor. I'm trying to build a simple App where I can store some parameters(3 pairs with dictionary) to a file with a button and read back with another button. But it always crashes without error message when changing to the next text box for value change. Just "undefined" will be shown.
Does anybody has an idea?
dict_test.aia (3.6 KB)

Don't use the LostFocus events, use a button click event to store all the new values in your dictionary

Taifun

I don't see where you are issuing the read for the file.

Also, assuming your file is being stored as JSON, you would need the Web1.JSONTextDecodeAsDictionaries block in all 4 places to get a dictionary back.

It is unwise to default on naming variables and procedures. Try global testDict to at least announce its expected data type to any one forced to read your code.

Hi Taifun, thanks for the reply. I'm using "lostFocus" because I want to write the value every time I'm switching to the next input field/text box. At the input filelds/text box are only "lost focus" and "got focus" available. In case of "button click" I need a button each text box additionally. This makes it very uncomfortable...
What is the reason about crashing while using "lost focus"?

You need only one button to click after all textboxes are filled

I think, these events also get triggered directly after Screen initialization

Taifun

Hi ABG,
thanks for your response! Read from file will be activated by the button "read" here:
Afterwards, when the file was read and "got text" is triggered, the text will be read as variable "name" and JSON-decode to the dictionary: 3 Keys; 3 values...
What are "4" places? I just have 3 text boxes as input and 2 buttons for read and write. For the 3 text boxes I'm using "when File1.GotText" for reading from file and showing into the text boxes, I'm doing a JSONTextDecodeAsDictionaries (3 times!).