Recieving text messages without notifiying user

Hi all!

I’m working on a project using an arduino that monitors a few sensors in a remote location. The arduino is connected to a cell module and I currently communicate with it via text messages. I currently text the arduino the message “Stat” and the arduino replies with a text message stating the current status of it’s sensors. I want to replace the text message system with an app.

I am new to app inventor and creating apps in general. I studied the ‘no text while driving’ tutorial app and worked on creating an app based off that example. In both apps, when a text message is recieved, not only does the app get the message, but the android text message app also gets the message. Ideally, I’d like to stop the android text message app from getting the text message if it’s from my arduino.

Basically, I’d like my app to get the text message, and if the caller number of the text message is my arduino, then handle the text message. Otherwise, pass it on to the android app. Is that possible?

I’m seeking advice and guidance on this…

Thanks,
Randy

Hello Randy

It’s not possible because of the Google Security Measures that are now part of Android. The Android device (phone) has a built-in messenger and that is the “King” of SMS.

So the device always receives text messages before any App can be used to additionally process them.

However, if you want to communicate with your Arduino, you can use Bluetooth to directly exchange text with your App and App Inventor already has the Code Blocks needed to do that - at least thousands of Users have done it. Bluetooth modules such as the HC06 work well with Arduino, using Bluetooth “Classic” in App Inventor, for example.

See my website:
https://www.professorcad.co.uk/appinventortips#TipsArduino
https://www.professorcad.co.uk/appinventortips#TipsBluetooth

Maybe Randy. Wheter this could work depends on several factors:

• does the arduino have its own telephone number?