Receive midi data over bluetooth

Hi. I am new to this and could do with some advice. The answer is probably very simple.
I have a MIDI file in an Arduino DUE and I want to send the data (the whole file may be only a few tens of bytes long) in it to my Android device via Bluetooth. The api above works as long as the byte value is less than 127 (0x7F). Once it gets bigger than that the data byte is discarded and replaced by ‘EF BF BD’. As a lot of data in MIDI files are greater than 0x7F this is a problem. If I try using signed or signed bytes the information is stored as comma delimited file (or something).
The Arduino sketch sends the data using a bluetooth.write(byte) command to a standard 05 unit. The file delimiter is 126 (0x7e).

Can anybody help me here.
Many thanks.
Nigel

Hi @nigel,

Rather than using ReceiveText, you probably want to use ReceiveUnsignedBytes, which will return a list of the values from 0-255. By trying to interpret the values as text, anything above 0x7F will be interpreter as a UTF-8 continuation byte, and will fail to parse due to the data not being UTF-8.

Hi EW
Thanks for your swift reply and help.
I did try using ReceiveUnsignedBytes (and SignedBytes) and got some sort of comma separated list complete with square brackets at the beginning and end. This would be fine if I could then (or better on-the-fly) remove those unwanted bytes (ie spaces, commas and brackets) and compress the plain numbers back into single bytes. I hope that the attached screen shot gives a better idea of what I received in the file. Any help on how to strip out and reinterpret would be greatly appreciated.
Both the Arduino sketch shown and the App are cut-down versions of the original so that I can test just the file transfer bits.
Really what I am looking for is a ‘black box’ that I send bytes into at the Arduino end and get exaclty the same bytes out at the Android end. A simple ‘file transfer’ system.
All the best
Nigel