My BLE app stops discovering devices on one phone but works on another

I am new to MIT inventor and I am developing an app on a Motorola Moto E, android version 6 phone, to collect and store UART data from an arduino using an Adafruit Bluefruit LE SPI Friend.
I have been working on this for a couple of days but now the app, which seems to download and refresh to the App Inventor 2 companion, does not now discover BLE devices.
If however, on the same phone, I use the Nordic nRF Connect app I can see the Bluefruit BLE and its services and connect to it.

I started my development by modifying several example apps which did work but now don’t:
https://appinventor.mit.edu/explore/blogs/karen/2016/08/heart.html
https://www.hackster.io/gerrikoiot/ble-gp-o-controller-mit-app-inv-feather-m0-bluefruit-le-4fba5e

I have tried re-installing the companion app and I also did a factory reset of the phone.

I have another identical Moto E phone and a Samsung tablet and my app works ok when installed on these.

I am baffled, any suggestions please?

Jim

That's interesting. We have had two other people I know of using the Bluefruit but neither got it to work. Check for differences between the Moto E's - are they running identical Android versions for instance? Is Fine Location enabled on the one that does not work?

The phone on which my app did work but now doesn’t, is an Android 6.0
On this phone the options for Location Mode are:

• High Accuracy use GPS, WiFi, Bluetooth or Mobile Networks.

• **Battery Saving ** use WiFi, Bluetooth or Mobile Networks.

• Device only Use GPS.

I tried them all but still cant see any BT devices.

The phone on which my app now works is an Android 5.0.2. with Location Mode set to high accuracy.

I don’t suspect the Adafruit BLE as when my app was working I saw about 8 devices listed in my location and now none.

Jim