Invoke: no method named `ReadColumn' in class com.google.appinventor.components.runtime.Spreadsheet

Hi there, I am a newbie and trying to use Google Sheets. I can successfully read my whole sheet with .ReadSheet, I can also use .ReadWithExactFilter etc. but if I try to read a column with .ReadColumn, it always fails.

Here is my Google Sheet:
GoogleSheet

And here are my blocks:
Blocks

And here is the error message:

invoke: no method named `ReadColumn' in class com.google.appinventor.components.runtime.Spreadsheet

I am using the Spreadsheet componant under Storage section in Designer:
Spreadsheet

Help apreciated. Brgds/Jerome

Android or iOS?

Are you running companion version 2.66? When the Spreadsheet component came out in 2.65, the ReadColumn method was called ReadCol, but we decided that it wouldn't be appropriate in the long term to use the programmer abbreviated names for new users. If other operations work with the Spreadsheet but ReadColumn doesn't, you probably need to upgrade to the latest version.

1 Like

This is Android and I am using the emulator with aiStarter. I am using :
Construction: March 21 2023 Version: nb192
Use Companion: 2.66 or 2.66u
Target Android SDK: 31 (Android 12.0)

AppInventorVersion

Would that make a difference if I use AI Companion or if I compile an apk and install it ?

Note that this dialog only indicates the desired companion app version. This can be different from what you are actually running on your device or in the emulator. You should check the version number the emulator shows when it starts up (but before your app appears).

If you're unsure, once the emulator is connected you can always use the Help > Update the Companion menu item to request an update.

If it helps, ReadColumn works OK on my Androidx86 emulator, which is running Android 9.This with companion 2.66

Well, when the emulator is starting, I see the following:
EmulatorStart
If I click on 'About this application', it shows the following:
EmulatorAbout