Image cropping help

Hello everyone! Is there any method to crop images ? i am not talking about regular cropping of Rectangle box shape. I want to crop images with different shapes. just like- Adobe scanner uses.

Hi @Kvtechz Welcome
You can check Taifun's extension directory.

1 Like

I couldn't find any extension. Can u please help? If you find one, please share the link.

as far as I know, there are only extensions available, which can crop a rectangular shape

you could write your own extension and create the functionality yourself...

more information about how to create an extension see the App Inventor Extensions document

however that will be more advanced and will require some Java skills...

Taifun

Trying to push the limits! Snippets, Tutorials and Extensions from Pura Vida Apps by Taifun.

1 Like

Maybe this can help you :

https://puravidaapps.com/image.php

1 Like

it crops in rectangle shape only.

Thank you for replying, But, I am just a beginner. I haven't studied Java yet.

Try This :

As far as i read, this extension crops by defining height and width. ....

Hello,
I had the same doubt as I also needed something like this:

The image is captured by the user and I'm using the camera componen for that. Is there any way I can do this?

P.S. :arrow_right: I don't know Java, only Python and HTML I know.
Also I found this :arrow_right: StackOverflow

Maybe if someone can create an extension using the java code in that website?

Any help would be grateful. Thank you!

I did an image cropper using the canvas a while back...

1 Like

Thanks, I will try the cropping image option. But is the image captured by the camera saved in the SD CARD?

I'm taking the Permissions to read and write in external storage.

The guide was written before all the file location issues arose in Android 10 and 11 (application specific directory and permissions on sdcard). You may need to make adjustments depending on your android version.

1 Like

Hello,