How do I access navigation route points by list index (the last coordinates in the list, for example)

I am developing a random walk app. Users choose a distance to walk and the app returns a random route from the current position, the chosen distance away. I want to ensure that each subsequent choice of destination doesn't backtrack along the same route the user has just walked. I can store the route points in tinydb. They are in the form of a space delimited list of the point's two coordinates in brackets. I figure that if I can check that the last coordinate entry on the stored list is not the same as the first coordinate entry of the list for the new route, then it isn't backtracking. I can do this in,say, python but I'm new to AI and am looking for a little guidance on how to access these variables - last route points coordinates in tinydb, and first ones in the new route.

What have you tried? Please share your Blocks.

You possibly can do something like this after you learn to work with Lists, use the Math Blocks and calculate distance (there are several ways to calculate distance) using App Inventor. The solution to build your app will be complicated.

What you do depends on

• how you produce your List of coordinates. Is it a simple list of coordinates or is it a trak (generally a LineString object). You say you store the coordinates in a 'space delimited list of the point's two coordinates in brackets.' What does this mean? All you need is a List of coordinate latitude/longitude pairs.

• how you determine the random start. This can be easy, use the pick a random item from Block on your coordinate List. The last coordinate pair in the List is
    select list item list (coordinatesList)
    index (length of list)

Sajal's tutorial List Blocks On App Inventor | Imagnity is a good example of how to use a List.