Help with unwanted ASCII characters in my Status area

Ok, not sure if I can do it with the app inventor or just impossible but is there a way to filter out serial print ASCII characters like the 97 from showing up in my app drink status?
or am I just stuck with them. Also here is a copy of my blocks image if that helps.
Very new to this, been watching videos, reading everything I can find. If I need to upload the Arduino code...I can.

Thanks for any Help
Michael

I think we can assume that your Status Area is populated via data sent from the Arduino? If so, then yes, we need to see the .ino file.

Instead of all those buttons, why not use a List View? You also only need one Send Block.

Also, why send characters instead of integers? If integers were used, the code for each cocktail would be it's List Index....

ListView example:
Cocktails.aia (3.9 KB)

Here is my .ino file. I'm still learning code and use app inventor...I've modified my .ino from someone else project that shared their code to add features that the original didn't have. The App inventor, I've never even used before till a few days ago, when I got my .ino file to properly compile. The original person that I based mine from shared their App Inventor code, but I could never get it to work with their original code, or mine, so figured out how create my own app, that actually connects and controls my arduino. Now their original code originally sent Dec # but I could never get my arduino to respond to, but was able to get it to work with characters. My current app, actually controls my Arduino like the original coders and...the Status Area, was kinda a after thought when I seen another app showing the serial print info but without the ASCII numbers and I thought it was kinda neat so I figured out how to add it to the app I created. Even the text to speech was just added today when I seen an tutorial on a YouTube video, and looked to see if I can add it to my app...was never a consideration till I seen it