Help with excel equation

Hi
I’m very new to this but am trying to do a small app which calculates a bearing needed to take when starting and ending coordinates are input.
I have a working excel calculation which works but am struggling on how to convert this into an ai2 format.
I’ve got so far but stumbling with a bit of the math involved.
I’ve got the coordinates converted to radians using the inbuilt function which works correctly.
The excel calculation I wish to get into ai2 is as follows:
=MOD(ATAN2((COS(C3)*SIN(C6))-(SIN(C3)*COS(C6)*COS(C7-C4)), SIN(C7-C4)COS(C6)),2PI())*180/PI()
Here’s what I’ve got up to and think I’m very close.

Any help much appreciated

Please have look at this. In Atan2 you have a mistake on “y”

You should be getting getx under sin function. But you calculate all and you get sin of this result. And one more thing there is no PI in your equation.

I also make up below. I guess it works. I put PI = 22/7 but you can use PuraVida’s extension for using constants in your work (see https://puravidaapps.com/math.php). So it is easier to handle long equations.

1 Like

Thanks so much for your help.
I’ve progressed it somewhat but the final bearing result I am getting is still not accurate. Maybe I missed something.
This is what I’ve got it down to so far.

Pro-Tip:
You can right click in the blocks editor to “Download Blocks as Image” which is much easier to view in the forum.

1 Like

what about using a snippet?
An enhancement to the compass app to provide additionally the direction to a waypoint

Taifun

Trying to push the limits! Snippets, Tutorials and Extensions from Pura Vida Apps by Taifun.

How about telling us what is supposed to be in cells C3, C6, C7, C4 so we can validate the formula?

Where did you get that formula?

Did you know that AI2 trig formulas are in decimal degrees, versus Excel formulas which are in radians?

How do you want your bearing to be expressed?: