Help with coding a button

Hello, I am curious to know if anyone would be able to help me with something I am trying to achieve. So i am creating a game (a very simple one) where you have to guess the letters of my word and everytime you guess right, The correct letter you guessed, will appear on the canvas and the “letters to guess” number will decrease until you guess all right letters. The same goes for the “guesses left” number (everytime you guess a wrong letter the number decreases until you reach zero) however I am having much difficulty achieving this. I am very new to programming and i just cant figure out how to continuously decrease the numbers in value while at the same time making a letter appear or not (if the wrong letter is guessed) in the process. Please any help or tips would be appreciated and thank you in advance. This is what i have so far:

1 2 3

This sounds like the game Hangman.

Here’s a sample doc …

1 Like

Thanks for the info it was really helpful. I was able to almost achieve what I wanted with this procedure however the only thing im having an issue with now is that when the amounts of guesses run out i get a false returned not a zero. Then i changed the code around and the counter did not stop at zero it kept going if you kept on guessing letters. It kept going to -1, -2, etc. Im trying to make it stop at zero any helpful tip would be appreciated. The hangman info helped but I didnt wanted mine to be different, but here is my procedure so far any ideas on what is causing my issue. Thank you in advance. This is what I have so far:
i feel like ive been working on this for so long my brain is fried and i just cant comprehend the issue :confused:

If you are lost in a jungle of logic, you need to put up street signs.

Pay careful attention to your procedures to give them good functional descriptive names
for what value they are returning or what job they must do.