Help for Extension Building

I am a student and new to extension building. I am trying build an extension with the help of SDK documentations.

First of all It guides us to Import Gradle Dependency. How can I do that

Secondly, How can I define XML or basic design for my extension (such as width, height, etc.)

I am really looking forward for help

1 Like

First of I'd recommend to learn Java basics first before trying Android development or Extension development.

Here are some tips.
I would suggest to learn a few things.
Java and basics of Annotations and Classes before starting to develop more complex extensions..
for example start learning by creating extensions that uses Integers or Strings

For compiling am extension use extension-template or Appinventor sources or Rush
Extension template is way faster than Appinventor sources as it only compiles the extension files and Appinventor sources also compiles the components present in the components folder.

1. https://github.com/mit-cml/appinventor-extensions ( Extension Template )
  2. https://github.com/mit-cml/appinventor-sources ( Appinventor Sources )
  3. Rush • A new and improved way of building extensions ( Rush )

And for the Editor I will suggest to install VSCode as its suited for begginers and has mostly all functions that you can think of and also its not Resource Heavy. After that you can think of IntelliJ Idea

For now you can't import gradle dependencies. However you can search the pachage name in Google or in search.maven.org for its specific JARs or AARs
Note: AARs are not fully supported by Appinventor fully.

In an extension you can't add your own XML for specific Layouts or widgets. You need to use their Java class to create a new instance of them and add it to specific View components
For example:
Button btn = new Button(this.context);

For the width I believe you can use setHeight(); and setWidth(); for Height and Width respectively.

3 Likes

A small correction.