GSoC 2024 Inquiry: AI components for Android and iOS

Hi everyone, I hope you are having a wonderful day! My name is Jiwon Choi, a third-year student at the University of Toronto, pursuing a double major in Mathematical Sciences and Applied Statistics with a minor in Computer Science. I recently came across the "AI Components for Android and iOS" project listed for the Google Summer of Code 2024 and am very excited about the opportunity to contribute to re-implementing core App Inventor components across both platforms.

I am very passionate about AI/machine learning and data science, and I have some experience with these including training a facial expression recognition machine learning model achieving an impressive accuracy of over 86%. This experience has not only deepened my understanding of machine learning algorithms but also enriched my skills in data analysis and manipulation, areas that are crucial for the successful development of AI components for App Inventor.

In addition to this, I have experience in developing mobile applications for both Android and iOS platforms. Notably, my participation in an IEEE hackathon led to the development of a camera application using the CameraX API. Furthermore, I am actively involved in developing an iOS application as a co-founder aimed at connecting university students, with a planned launch this summer. These experiences have provided me with a comprehensive understanding of mobile app development, from conceptualization to deployment, making me well-prepared to tackle the challenges of implementing AI components across Android and iOS platforms.

I am particularly drawn to the technical challenge and the potential impact of making advanced AI and data science features accessible across both Android and iOS platforms. I am eager to leverage my background in data analysis, machine learning, and mobile app development to contribute to the App Inventor's mission.