Clipboard extension cannot copy colored, bold, or italic text?

How would I copy bold, italic, and/or colored text using the clipboard extension? I tried copying text from a text box with the BOLD and ITALIC check boxes checked, but that failed. I'm new to App Inventor, so can I get a helping hand?

The only way I know is that is you can copy the the text as HTML. If you want to copy the text - "Hello" with italic then you have to copy text like this - <i>Hello</i>.

Note: If you are pasting the text, the app or program should accept HTML.

do you use this extension :
https://puravidaapps.com/clipboard.php

I think you should try to use this method :
https://puravidaapps.com/snippets.php#2clipboard

1 Like

Hello Cesar

If you are using copy-paste from your App to another App, it is usually the case that formating and colour do not get copied by the Android System. There are of course exceptions to most rules but it can become messy to accommodate them - is your App only ever copying to one other specific App? If that is the case, you might have a chance of preserving the text decoration.

On the other hand, if you are copying and pasting within your own App, you can use your own non-displayed codes to preserve decoration. That is still a complex task though. If preserving formatting only (Bold, Italic), but not colour, then Unicode comes into play, but Android isn't as good as the likes of Windows, MacOS and Linux.

This might be of interest:

I guess I should've more context about the app. The program I'm creating will be able to change the text the user inputs into a textbox to a bunch of different formats (UPPERCASE, bold, cRiNgE, etc.). The user will be able to copy this new formatted text and paste it wherever the user needs it.

@Salman_Dev
I am using that extension! What are the limits in terms of formatting the text that the second method provides? Would bold, italics, or different-colored text transfer well to other webpages or apps?

@ChrisWard