Bluetooth HC-06 LED is solid but keep getting Error 516: Unable to write. Broken Pipe

Hello Forum,

I am relatively new to MIT App Inventor. I have spent nearly 60 hours over the past 2 weeks trying to learn how to use this awesome tool, and I have only scratched the surface. I have viewed hundreds of videos on YouTube, and I have looked at hundreds of posts on this Forum.

I am getting this error while connected via Bluetooth between an Arduino Pro Mini and Android smartphone with an HC-06 Bluetooth module:

Error 516: Unable to write. Broken Pipe.

I am getting this error non-stop. I have used the protocol to connect to Bluetooth as shown in literally 100's if not 1000's of postings.

I transmit a few bytes. Then I receive a few bytes. And all of the sudden I see the error. And the red LED on the HC-06 remains solid (meaning that it is connected). But it is not connected.

I have searched the forum and see no one item that causes this error...seems like there are infinite causes.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,
--Neal

Hello Neal.
Have you tried using a BT serial terminal app? Always a good tool to have on hand when building a BT app.

The app from Kai Morich is popular. Just search on "Bluetooth Serial Terminal app".
John.

Dear John,

How do you connect the Bluetooth Serial Terminal App to a smartphone? I have an FTDI module for connecting and Arduino to my PC via USB cable. I have no idea how to connect the smartphone. I have searched for Bluetooth connection. The list will not refresh. I have no clue. Is there a tutorial for this? I have Googled this and cannot find anything other than the download.

TIA,
--Neal

I'm a bit confused re what you have already achieved. I get the Broken Pipe message when the phone's BT service is not enabled, so just use the phone settings to enable BT.

Are you sure solid LED means connected? With my HC-05 it flashes twice every 5 secs when connected.