Bluetooth connection issue across menus/screens

Dear all

I am rather new to MIT App Inventor. With the help of several tutorials I managed to implement my project quite efficiently. The testing environment works mostly well except the Bluetooth feature. I intend to control an ESP32 project with MIT App Inventor.

I have created an app menu structure consisting of several pages or what is called screens on MIT App Inventor. When I set up a bluetooth connection on a screen with the structure provided below all works perfectly well and I can send different commands to the ESP32. However when I switch from one page to another in the App, I get the bluetooth connection error 515 and I have to re-establish the connection on that MIT page/screen first.

I monitor the bluetooth connection on the ESP32 with an event function in a Terminal Monitor and there is no issue on that side as far as I am concerned. However for my MIT App the Bluetooth connection seems to be lost whenever I switch from one page/screen to an other.

How can I "define the bluetooth connection globally" within MIT App regardless of which menu/screen I select without re-establishing the connection on every screen first?

I found several posts regarding Error "515" but the ones I found are not related to switching issues betweens App screens.

Thank you very much for your help.

Kind regards.

Remo

1 Like

Yes you are right. Changing screens disconnects the BT device. You could say that changing the screen is like opening a new application. If you need pages, use the Arrangement to build virtual pages.

2 Likes

perfect, I will check the arrangement concept.

Here's a simple example:
screens.aia (2.2 KB)

1 Like

Thank you very much for your immediate support