aiStarter in Linux Fedora

Hi, I am a student in mobile app development. I am using a linux fedora system and I am having more than a few issues with getting aiStarter to work on my system. I am sure it is more me than the software but I need to be sure. I downloaded the appropriate (non ubuntu) package and extracted it to /usr/google/appinventor every time I try to run the aiStarter program it gives me an error and closes out. What have I done/am I doing wrong. Please be gentle... I am a noob at this but not totally wet behind the ears.

1. Just extracted or installed ?

2. Why the aiStarter ?

I run linux, and use Genymotion for an emulator - faster,easier,more up to date Android - what is not to like :wink:

or do you want to connect by USB ?

1 Like
1 Like

Hi, just extracted it, I couldn't find any fedora-based information on how to install it and to answer your second question they are using aiStarter on the course so it is mainly so that I can follow along before we graduate into android studio.

If there is any documentation and if anyone knows where it is as to how to install appinventor on Fedora I would appreciate it because I searched but didn't find it.

Oh and I am trying to start an emulator but even when I tried to use my device it told me aiStarted was not running.

Hmmm, have just downloaded the "other" linux tar, and there does not appear to be an installable packed, just files.

My guess is you just have to create the
/usr/google/appinventor/commands-for-Appinventor
directory, and then copy across all the files in
~/appinventor2_setup_2.3/appinventor/commands-for-Appinventor/
directory ?

This will probably leave the executable files isolated and possibly without executable flags, but you can then try running
~/appinventor2_setup_2.3/appinventor/commands-for-Appinventor/aiStarter
and see what happens ?

1 Like

I'll give it a try and let you know what happens

1 Like