How do you Overwrite an Existing File in Shared Scope (Documents)?

No. You should leave the folder (and file) in the ASD, as it will be automatically deleted when the app is uninstalled. Otherwise, your only option is to delete the folder each time the app goes to the background and recreate the folder and file when the app returns to the foreground.