Emulator will not Load (TalkToMe) Project (in the emulator) (emulator installs but will not update)

Hello World

Our school uses MIT App Inventor as part of our curriculum, however, we cannot seem to load the project via the Android emulator function.

I have freshly installed AI Starter to my machine, of which I am an Administrator, and I have created a new project and placed some buttons on the screen for testing.

These are my steps:

We have checked the Firewall rules and there are no discrepancies. We have even let a test student account bypass the Firewall for testing purposes only and we have been able to replicate the issue then too. We have installed and reinstalled - no change.

Can someone please provide some advice?

Please note that I am from Melbourne, Australia and it is now term break. I may not be able to respond in 7 days' time but will get back to you when feasible.

Cheers
Sarah

Welcome Sarah.

My understanding / recollection is that Project will not work in the stock emulator. The emulator cannot 'emulate' shaking and sounds. If you notice, this advice is part of the tutorial: you can connect your
App Inventor project to your phone or tablet for live testing That is an indication the Project can only run using the Companion in live development using a real Android.

Does the Project run if you use Companion and a real device?

2 Likes

Hi Steve

Yes, according to the teacher of this class, an Android phone does work.

However, not all students have an Android device. We wouldn't recommend students using their personal devices for this scenario anyway.

I do recall that the emulator used to run - I have used it in the past.

How come there are issues now? What does the Runtime error mean?

Cheers
Sarah

Have you tried to use the emulator on a different project? One that doesn't use TextToSpeech control. Does a Project with out TTS run on the emulator?

I have never known the emulator to emulate TextToSpeech.